none
Remove NTFS permission recursively from folder for specific user (permission inherited from root folder) RRS feed

• Question

• Guys I need your help to remove NTFS permission for specific user from folder. I have many folders under local drive and inside each folder there are millions of sub-folder and files, permission inherited from root folder for that user.

I want to remove NTFS permission for that particular user from all the folders recursively.

Please help me with power-shell script.

Thanks you!

MJ

Sunday, November 1, 2020 3:31 PM

All replies

• We cannot teach you how to do this.  You will need to learn how the file system and permissions work.

The simple answer is to just remove the permission from the root.  That is wat "inherited" means.

I recommend doing this from File Explorer since this will prevent you from making a mistake.

\_(ツ)_/

Sunday, November 1, 2020 3:42 PM
  • I am also a System Consultant, and about file system and permission I know well but I am not good at power-shell ,I have main root folder under D rive and inside root folder many sub-folders and underneath millions of Folders and File, Permission is being applied from root folder. 

If you have something to suggest then please give suggestion

see what I am trying

$user = 'domain\userid'
    $folders = "D:\*"

##Remove Inheritance from Top Folders and Child Objects
    Foreach($folder in $folders) { 
     icacls $folder /inheritance:d
     Get-ChildItem -Path $folder -Recurse | ?{$_.PSisContainer} | foreach {$subfolder = $_.FullName; icacls $subfolder /inheritance:d}
    }
    ##Remove User from Top Folders
    $acls = Get-Acl -path $folders 
    Foreach($acl in $acls) { 
     $folder = (convert-path $acl.pspath)
       Foreach($access in $acl.access) { 
       Foreach($value in $access.identityReference.Value) {
        if ($value -eq $user) { 
         $acl.RemoveAccessRule($access)
    } } }
     Set-Acl -path $folder -aclObject $acl 
    }