none
Logon Script: Copy / Delete files on client PCs

Question

• Hello, I'm a newbie to scripting, so please bear with me!

My scenario:   On every client PC in our domain, I need to delete a certain file, and I need to copy over 2 new files to 2 different directories.  The directories and filenames will be the same on every computer, the only thing that will change is the machine name of the computer.  Our domain consists of Windows Server 2003 servers, XP Pro clients.

I'm thinking that this would be a fairly straight forward log-on script, using VBScript but I'm having problems getting started with the correct syntax.

I've tried messing around with the syntax on the following website, but haven't been able to produce any results:
    http://www.wallaceit.co.uk/Logon-scripts/How-to-copy-files-to-client-machines-via-a-logon-script/102/article.aspx

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide me!

Wednesday, December 9, 2009 2:51 PM

Answers

• You can use the wshNetwork object to retrieve the NetBIOS name of the computer (and also the pre-Windows 2000 logon name of the user). For example:

Set objNetwork = CreateObject("Wscript.Network")
    strUserName = objNetwork.UserName
    strComputer = objNetwork.ComputerName
    And you can use the FileSystemObject to check the existence of files, delete files, and copy files. In brief:

Set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")

' File to be deleted.
    strFile = "c:\scripts\Example.txt"

' Source file.
    strSource = "\\MyServer\MyShare\example1.txt"

' Target location.
    strTarget = "c:\scripts"

If (objFSO.FileExists(strFile) = True) Then
        obFSO.DeleteFile strFile, True
    End If

' Copy file.
    objFSO.CopyFile strSource, strTarget, True
    Richard Mueller
    MVP ADSI
    Wednesday, December 9, 2009 5:36 PM

All replies

• You can use the wshNetwork object to retrieve the NetBIOS name of the computer (and also the pre-Windows 2000 logon name of the user). For example: