none
User cannot logon with "Must change password at next logon" checked in AD Account screen RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie to AD, having to figure out how it works and need some help. We have a domain controller setup on a Windows 2012 server for our Project Server 2013 environment. This was setup previous and I now need to support it, but don't know much about AD. I added a new user in Active Directory Users and Groups and set all basic information needed, and checked "Must change password at next logon" on the "Account" tab, apply, and hit ok.

When the new user tries to logon, the Windows Security dialog appears, domain\username is entered, and password is entered. When the user hits enter, the security box just keeps coming back, no logon occurs. I triple checked and the user is entering the correct domain\username and password.

Going back to AD, I uncheck "Must change password at next logon," apply, and the user can logon no problem with the password provided. I went back and checked it again and the user cannot log on.

I would like to use this must change password feature as otherwise I'm going to have to assign and maintain passwords for everyone (time consuming and not very secure). I'm thinking some setting is not correct, but have no idea where to look. Is there some setting or property somewhere that needs to be set to make the change password at next logon functionality work? If so, can someone be kind enough to point me to where I make the setting?

Any help would be much appreciated as this is a totally new world for me.

Thanks,

Rick Frisby

Thursday, January 14, 2016 3:38 PM

Answers

• Hi 

Please check the whether Network level authentication is enabled on the server where user is trying to access. If it is enabled user will not be able to login when user must change password at next logon is checked.