none
Newbie in PowerShell needs help with a script to copy directories content and ensure nothing is lost. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I'm new to MS PowerShell but do have a little knowledge with scripting for VBA and R. I have over the years allowed my personal folder with songs get really messy and due to different machines I had similar folder names with different files.

I have this setup in a NAS which I have 16 TB of space, so I decided to copy all the original folders and files which I mapped as a Z drive in my network, to copy them to this other folder in the NAS called Y.

When I ran the script I for the 2019 folder which was the smallest of the  3 major ones, everything appeared to copy correctly as seen on the screenshot. 

But when I tried to copy folders from Z: "iTunes" (285gb - 16,442 files - 12,641 folders ) and "iTunes 2" (606 gb - 57,126 files)

I got on my Y drive the following: "iTunes" (284gb - 16,309 files - 12,557 folders ) and "iTunes 2" - I manually stopped in the middle and deleted folder.

I noticed that I was losing files which is the last thing I want since I have been building my music library for 20 years now almost.

My goal is to successfully copy these folders so that then I can attempt a script that merges the Music folder in each itunes and checks if that folder with same name exists, if it does just merge them, if not copy it with a different name and maybe list out what these are so I can then check these conflicts and help organize even further.

# I have a NAS with static IP, which I mapped two network drive folders in the NAS e to two letters: 
    # Z (Contains Original Files don't want to lose) & 
    # Y (copy to try and organize with this script)

# Quick look at the z directory I want to copy all folders
    # and subfolders to another already mapped 
    # location Y in the same NAS.

cd z:
    ls

Directory: Z:\