none
provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to SQL Server

Question

• Hi All,

I am new to dotnet. I tried connecting to the database MS SQL Server 2000. I gave the code like, the one below, in form load event,

SqlDataReader dr = null;

SqlConnection myConnection = new SqlConnection("Data Source=IP;Initial Catalog=name;User Id=uid;Password=pwd;");

myConnection.Open();

myConnection.Close();

But I could not connect. The error message highlights the line myConnection.Open() and displays the error

An error has occurred while establishing a connection to the server.  When connecting to SQL Server 2005, this failure may be caused by the fact that under the default settings SQL Server does not allow remote connections. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to SQL Server)

It tries connecting to SQL Server 2005. There is no SQL Server 2005 in that system. There is only SQL Server 2000.

I have the aspx code in my local system and the database in another machine.

Could Someone please help me out in solving this problem.

Thanks,

Arun. S

Monday, February 20, 2006 5:37 AM

Answers

•  

Hi, this error occurs because the .Net 2.0 by default connects to SQL 2005. It is important that u give the server name rather than the IP. And moreover never reveal ur login name and password details in sites like this. an intruder might easily access ur site and that too u have given the IP. avoid making such simple mistakes.

Monday, March 13, 2006 11:36 AM

All replies

• This error is coming from the driver it is telling you that it cannot find *ANY* SQL Server at the IP address x.x.x.x.

The driver just adds SQL 2005 to the error string blindly in other words.

So you need to generally debug why you can't connect to SQL Server on IP x.x.x.x.