none
Having Trouble Creating the Service Proxy for migrating to SharePoint 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• I enter in the below code:

New-SPMetadataServiceApplicationProxy -Name "User Profile Service Proxy 2013" -ServiceApplication $upa -DefaultGroup

I get the Error below:

ServiceApplication or URI must be specified when creating a proxy. at line:1 char:1

SharePoint Engineer - Mike

Friday, November 8, 2019 7:05 PM

All replies

• Hi Mike.

What is stored in the "$upa" variable? As per Microsoft documentation, it must be the local managed metadata service application to connect to (either a valid GUID, a valid name of the service application or an instance of a valid SPMetadataServiceApplication object); also, the second parameter should be "DefaultProxyGroup".

Bye.

Luigi Bruno
    MCP, MOS, MTA, MCTS, MCSA, MCSE

Friday, November 8, 2019 8:22 PM
  • I'm a little of a beginner. Can you let me know where to find the GUID, valid name of the service application or instance of a valid SPMetadataServiceApplication object

Also, Where do I find the DefaultProxyGroup?

Friday, November 8, 2019 8:26 PM
  • $serviceapppool = Get-SPServiceApplicationPool "SharePoint Web Services Default"

$upa = New-SPProfileServicesApplication -Name "User Profile Service 2013" -ApplicationPool" $serviceapppool -ProfileDBProfile_2013" -SocialDBName "UPS_Social_2013"

New-SPMetadataServiceApplicationProxy -Name "User Profile Service Proxy 2013" -ServiceApplication "Managed Metadata Service" -DefaultProxyGroup

Friday, November 8, 2019 9:09 PM
  • Can you point me to the documentation as well??

Friday, November 8, 2019 9:09 PM
  • I'm a little of a beginner. Can you let me know where to find the GUID, valid name of the service application or instance of a valid SPMetadataServiceApplication object

Also, Where do I find the DefaultProxyGroup?