none
Testing calculated members in cube browser RRS feed

• Question

• Dear SQL,

I am new to MDX and cubes as a whole so pardon my question. I am trying to add a distinctcount of orderid's so that I can see the orders per customer. The orderid's are in a supplier dimension where the customers are in a seperate dimension. 

When I add a measure directly in the cube structure, everything works fine and I am able to see the amount of orderid's per customer. However, when I go and add a calculated member, with DISTINCTCOUNT ( [Suppliers.OrderID.Members] ) it does not work. 

What is the difference in the calculation which Visual Studio generates and mine? 

Kind regards,

Michiel

Wednesday, August 14, 2019 3:20 PM

Answers

• It seems like the calculated member does not take the relationships into account in some way, as it applies correctly within the same dimension of the orderid's themselves. Do you have any other suggestions? Is there more info i can provide? 

I'd need to see what your attribute relationships look like and what sort of test query you are running in order to figure out what's going on here. However if the cube based measure works why not just use that? It's working and will be at least 10 times faster than any equivalent calculated measure.

http://darren.gosbell.com - please mark correct answers

• Marked as answer by Michiel- Thursday, August 15, 2019 10:18 AM
    Thursday, August 15, 2019 9:46 AM

All replies

• When you build the measure into the cube there are actually new storage structures generated inside the cube to support the measure. A distinct count defined in an MDX cube will always outperform a similar calculated measure.