none
Designing tables for a report, dimensional or OLTP model ? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I got a vague requirement from the client and wondering if I should design that in a Analysis Services. However, I'm new to the SSAS. So please advice if I should build dimensional, fact tables and cube to build this report or just a OLTP table and implement Slowly changing dimensional concept to load the data.

If dimensional, should I build one dimensional table per each business vertical and one fact table for all dimensions or one fact table per each dimensional table as the drilldown report will have different columns per each business vertical.

Report:

• Edited by guest369 Friday, August 16, 2019 4:42 PM
    Friday, August 16, 2019 4:12 PM

Answers

• Got you, thanks Will!

If you have no other doubts, please kindly close thread by marking useful reply as answer.

Thanks for your contribution.

Best Regards,

Will

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

• Marked as answer by guest369 Friday, August 23, 2019 3:06 PM
    Friday, August 23, 2019 8:01 AM

All replies

•  I got a vague requirement from the client

You got a vague requirement and we don't know that one … nor existing structures, data, etc., so it's not possible to give you an advise.

Olaf Helper

[ Blog] [ Xing] [ MVP]

Saturday, August 17, 2019 5:51 AM
  • Hi guest369,

Thanks for your post.

For such report, it is hard to answer your doubts. I don't know how to get the values of these columns in the report, and what is the structure of the data source like? What is the business logic between the data columns of data source and the columns of the report above?

Best Regards,

Will

MSDN Community Support