Create a collection and exclude members from a different collection RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to push Microsoft Forefront to all computers in a computers in our company. I'm new with SCCM, so i'm still trying to figure it out.

I have already pushed the software to about 35% of all of our computers and management is ready to let me deploy it to the rest. I already have a collection that contains all computers with the software by searching for the .exe file. I need to create a collection to deploy the software to the rest of the computers, but I want to exclude all the computers that already have the .exe file.

I'm not even close to an expert with SQL, but I know the basics well enough to read through a query.

Any ideas how I should procede?

Here's the query statement for the computers that have Forefront:

select SMS_R_SYSTEM.ResourceID,SMS_R_SYSTEM.ResourceType,SMS_R_SYSTEM.Name,SMS_R_SYSTEM.SMSUniqueIdentifier,SMS_R_SYSTEM.ResourceDomainORWorkgroup,SMS_R_SYSTEM.Client from SMS_R_System inner join SMS_G_System_SoftwareFile on SMS_G_System_SoftwareFile.ResourceID = SMS_R_System.ResourceId where SMS_G_System_SoftwareFile.FileName = "MSASCui.exe"

Saturday, November 22, 2008 2:45 PM

Answers

•  

Here's two queries that I used for two collections that just so happen to also be for forefront. The first is all the machines with FCS the second is all the machines not in the first. I have these collections limted to other collections that just contain valid clients. Also you need to change the COLID in the second one to match the COLID of the first one in your environment.