none
NTFS permissions and folder ownership are lost on Package folder in BDP share on all BDPs.

Question

• The package status show "Install Pending" on all BDPs. After logon BDP workstation as a domain admin, I found  that security tab is empty on the Package folder inside BDP share, D:\SMSPKGD$\SC100039. Folder ownership also lost. 

It happened three times so far for two different packages. The first package is a reoccurring package. Its content is updated everyday at 9:00pm, DP is scheduled update at 10:00pm on the package. The second package, we did manually update one exe file and manually update the DP in admin console. The package does not has Binary sync enabled. BDP did downloaded newer contents from DP to BDPtmp folder, and then merged into D:\SMSPKGD$\SC100039. But NTFS permission did not set on the package folder SC100039.  To fix the problem, I have to manually take ownership and then assign Adminitsrators "Full" control and Users "Read" permissions.  

What could caused this problem? Any hot fix for this?

Steven

Wednesday, August 24, 2011 5:53 PM

Answers

• I did opened a call to Microsooft support. We set up folder Auditing, and find out that CCMExec.exe take ownership and remove all permissions when it is downloading the package. If everything went right, CCMExec.exe should reassign package ownership and NTFS permisison back after complete the download. The problem was that the download never get complete. So the package folder permissions brokem. By remove BDPs from Package DP definition does not fix the problem. The microsoft support tell me to delete BDP and recreate BDP. But I can not do it because each our BDP has about 3 GB data, and will never be able to download completedly in our 128Kb during the night windows.

We believe it caused by one of our AD BITS policy, which set bandwidth to 0 dure the day, and open up to 128 Kb during the night.