none
Dynamic Group based on SCOM group and DNS Domain RRS feed

• Question

• Hi!

I'd like to create a dynamic group based on:

1. Membership in another existing larger SCOM group with alot of different computers in various domains

2. DNS Domain name

The purpose of this is to filter out specific computers to a group and then associate that group for a specific Run As account. Is this possible? Or do you have any other suggestion to accomplish that?

Cheers!

Monday, October 22, 2018 9:14 AM

Answers

All replies

• You absolutely can do this, Kevin Holman has an article about something very similar : https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/kevinholman/2014/04/09/creating-groups-of-health-service-watcher-objects-based-on-other-groups/
    • Proposed as answer by Sameer Mhaisekar Monday, October 22, 2018 12:08 PM
    • Marked as answer by RonHextall Wednesday, October 24, 2018 6:19 AM
    Monday, October 22, 2018 9:44 AM
  • Thanks for your reply!

Im fairly new to xml and I dont quite get it, do I need to input these MembershipRule tags in a new xml MP containg my main group in it? I got an error importing it referring to the MonitoringClass for the group so I guess Im way off :)

<MembershipRule>   
     <MonitoringClass>$MPElement[Name="SystemCenter!Microsoft.SystemCenter.AllComputersGroup"]$</MonitoringClass>
    <RelationshipClass>$MPElement[Name="MicrosoftSystemCenterInstanceGroupLibrary7585010!Microsoft.SystemCenter.InstanceGroupContainsEntities"]$</RelationshipClass>
          <Expression>
            <Contains>
     <MonitoringClass>$MPElement[Name="SystemCenter!Microsoft.SystemCenter.AllComputersGroup"]$</MonitoringClass>
              <Expression>
                <Contained>
                  <MonitoringClass>$MPElement[Name="My large SCOM group name"]$</MonitoringClass>
                </Contained>
              </Expression>
            </Contains>
          </Expression>
    </MembershipRule>

<MembershipRule>