none
Error Code: 0x8007F004 when trying to install kb2286198 and kb2229593 on Server 2003 R2

Question

• I have a 2k3 R2 server running a time clock software as well as network share directories for my company. The server is stuck on an update KB2229593 and I cannot seem to figure out how to get it to allow the install. When I try normal windows update it simply fails, when I try to install it manually it gives me an error, you do not have permission to install on server 2003 contact your system administrator. However I am an administrator on this server. My co-worker who is also an admin on the server gets the same error when he tries to install it. I have found a little info but mostly related to WXP. I disabled my security on the server but still gets the same errors when trying to install. I would really like to get this installed so the server can stay up to date.

I have tried installing 6198 separately and first with the same errors, as well I tried installing 9593 separately and the same errors. The error code within windows update is 0x8007F004.

If there is any info needed to better resolve this question please just ask, I will provide any info necessary to resolve this issue.

Thanks

Tuesday, August 3, 2010 4:50 PM

Answers

• Just wanted to let anyone know who has seen this topic and either has this problem or seen it and not been able to fix it. After trying multiple fixes I found through various resources I came across these steps this morning and the problem is resolved. Granted this was a WXP fix but it worked on my 2k3 server.

1. Click Start, click Run, type dcomcnfg in the Open box, and then click OK.
    2. In the Component Services snap-in, click Component Services, expand Computers, and then expand My Computer.
    3. On the right pane, right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
    4. Click the Default COM Security tab.