none
Task sequence to install software only seems to work with .exe and not .msi programs

Question

• I am pretty new to SCCM, so excuse my ignorance, but when attempting to create a task sequence to install multiple software applications, I can add a software install task for packages that use a program created with an .exe, but when I try to add a software install task for a package that uses a program created with a .msi, no programs even show up in the drop down.  I can browse for a package, but the drop down for the program stays blank.  Any information to get me headed in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Wednesday, February 27, 2008 4:31 PM

Answers

• We had this same issue.  It seems that the programs called by a task sequence need to have a full .EXE extension.

To get around this we changed the programs of our MSI packages to start with 'msiexec.exe /i <rest of command line>'.

That then works fine.  It is important to include the .exe extension - just having msiexec fails.  We needed to do a similar thing for BAT and CMD files - prefix the command line with CMD.EXE /C

Hope that helps

Sunday, March 16, 2008 11:36 AM

All replies

• Does this help:

The Program must not specified to run only under a user account, and it must not be specified to allow interaction with the desktop.  If either of these options is selected on the program, then it cannot be run from a task sequence and will not be listed in the combobox.

Task sequences always run under the system account, and they cannot interact with the logged on user’s desktop.

Wednesday, February 27, 2008 6:07 PM
    Owner
  • We had this same issue.  It seems that the programs called by a task sequence need to have a full .EXE extension.

To get around this we changed the programs of our MSI packages to start with 'msiexec.exe /i <rest of command line>'.