none
SCOM 2012 SP1 doesnt have options for Linux/Unix

Question

• I am very new to SCOM and have run into a problem. We currently have SCOM monitoring our Windows servers and our Unix team would like to leverage SCOM for their servers. I am following the Technet article and when I try to run the Discovery Wizard or create Runas accounts, the options I would normally expect for Unix/Linux are not there. For example, on the Discovery Wizard, all I see is Windows Computers and Network Devices. We seem to have the correct management packs installed.

I appreciate any assistance!

Monday, January 20, 2014 7:07 PM

Answers

• Yes, and the version. For SCOM 2012 SP1 you will want to get the UNIX/Linux MPs from the install media. There is a folder called ManagementPacks that contain them. What is out on the online catalog is only for SCOM 2007 R2 for UNIX and Linux. We really need to do a better job of specifying this but... someday hopefully it will get fixed.

You can also get the latest versions from here --> http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=29696 but I do not believe it contains all of the UNIX/Linux MPs shipped with SP1, only the updates that have been released so you will want to remove the existing UNIX/Linux MPs you have installed. Get the ones from the SP1 install media and install them. Then use the latest from the link above and you should be good.

Note that you do not need to get the latest from the link but it does contain the latest agents and fixes.

Regards,

-Steve

• Marked as answer by allanonnc1 Monday, January 20, 2014 10:07 PM
    Monday, January 20, 2014 9:41 PM

All replies

• You should have at a minimum the following MPs installed. These get installed out of the box when you install SCOM so someone would of had to of removed them if you do not see the option to discover a UNIX/Linux system in the discovery wizard.

Regards,

-Steve

Monday, January 20, 2014 7:47 PM