none
New-ADUser : The object name has bad syntax RRS feed

• Frage

• This is my code, I just started learning powershell and I want to create new user at the location of the code, but I always get the same error, also, can someone explain what the "DC" is and what should I declare in it?

Import-Module ActiveDirectory
    New-ADUser -Name "Usuário Teste" -SamAccountName uteste 
    -Path "OU=Centralized\BR\Account\User DC=aldautomotive DC=com"

THE ERROR:

New-ADUser : The object name has bad syntax
    At line:2 char:1
    + New-ADUser -Name "Usuário Teste" -SamAccountName uteste -Path "OU=Cen ...
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        + CategoryInfo          : NotSpecified: (CN=Usuário Test...tomotive DC=com:String) [New-ADUser], ADException
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ActiveDirectoryServer:8335,Microsoft.ActiveDirectory.Management.Commands.NewADUser

Dienstag, 21. Januar 2020 15:13

Alle Antworten

• Hi,

Use commas in the OU path, like this:

Import-Module ActiveDirectory
    New-ADUser -Name "Usuário Teste" -SamAccountName uteste -Path "OU=Centralized\BR\Account\User,DC=aldautomotive,DC=com"

Verify that the container or OU is also valid.

You can use the Get-Help command to give examples and useful help, here's an example from the Get-Help New-ADUser command:

New-ADUser -SamAccountName "glenjohn"  -GivenName "Glen" -Surname "John" -DisplayName "Glen John" -Path 'CN=Users,DC=fabrikam,DC=
        local' -OtherAttributes @{'msDS-PhoneticDisplayName'="GlenJohn"}

Best regards,
    Leon

Blog: https://thesystemcenterblog.com LinkedIn:

• Als Antwort vorgeschlagen Stoyan ChalakovMVP Dienstag, 21. Januar 2020 16:11
    • Nicht als Antwort vorgeschlagen jrvModerator Dienstag, 21. Januar 2020 18:33
    Dienstag, 21. Januar 2020 15:26
  • You need to specify the full Distinguished Name of the OU (or container). My guess is that the Path should be: