Windows 8.1 Built-in apps will not install or want repair RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am a sysadmin that is working on a Windows 8.1 deployment and we have found that a few of our users that have had their profiles migrated from Windows 7 to Windows 8.1 are unable to use the the built in applications (such as News, Weather etc).  I am able to install other applications from the store however the built in Windows 8.1 apps refuse to install with the error 0x80070005.

I have tried the following:
    1 - Windows Store Apps Troubleshooter: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows-8/what-troubleshoot-problems-app
    2 - The Windows store opens correctly and if not can be solved by: the following:
    • Checking that HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\AppModel\Repository\Packages has the owner as system
    • Running powershell -ExecutionPolicy Unrestricted Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $Env:SystemRoot\WinStore\AppxManifest.XML
    • Performing Store resets using wsreset.exe as admin and user based
    3 - tried running powershell -ExecutionPolicy Unrestricted Get-AppxPackage -Allusers | Remove-AppxPackage and then trying again to re-install.
    4 - Tried running powershell  ((Get-ChildItem "HKLM:SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Appx\AppxAllUserStore\InboxApplications") | Get-ItemProperty).Path | Add-AppxPackage -Register -DisableDevelopmentMode
    5 - Windows All up to date.
    6 - Client normally uses WSUS to internal server, cleared these settings out and re-tried
    7 - Delete the regkey: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Appx\AppxAllUserStore\[UserSid]
    Restart.  <o:p></o:p>