none
BitLocker Deployment via GPO and Powershell Script RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to this, but have been tasked to deploy BitLocker remotely\automated, via GPO and Powershell.

I have a mixed environment of both UEFI and Legacy Laptops, thus, my test environment is setup the same.  With that, I have a policy for using TPM, and another for not utilizing TPM, but to just use passwords.  I have setup two GPO's, as well as two different Powershell commands to Enable Bitlocker. 

I had both Poweshell scripts working.  However, I soon realized that I didn't have something in the script that was creating a Recovery Key\Passwords and exporting them into AD.  (I have this setup to be allowed within my GPO).

When I attempt to add the syntax to do this, I receive errors, so I am trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong.

Please see the powershell syntax below, and the output from it.  Any info on what I'm doing wrong would be appreciated.  If you need any info on the GPO's, I can provide that as well.

For the TPM workstations:

This script works...

$SecureString = ConvertTo-SecureString "12345678" -AsPlainText -Force
    Enable-BitLocker -MountPoint "C:" -EncryptionMethod Aes256 -Pin $SecureString -TPMandPinProtector

This script fails...

Enable-BitLocker -MountPoint "C:" -EncryptionMethod Aes256 -RecoveryKeyPath "\\testdc\Bitlocker Keys" -RecoveryKeyProtector -Pin $SecureString -TPMandPinProtector

Failed Script Output...

Enable-BitLocker : Parameter set cannot be resolved using the specified named parameters.
    At C:\Users\administrator.PDCTEST\Desktop\EnableBitlocker-TPM-PIN2.ps1:2 char:1
    + Enable-BitLocker -MountPoint "C:" -EncryptionMethod Aes256 -RecoveryK ...
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        + CategoryInfo          : InvalidArgument: (:) [Enable-BitLocker], ParameterBindingException
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : AmbiguousParameterSet,Enable-BitLocker