none
Windows 7 Freezes when Resumed from Idle due to Screen Blanking

General discussion

• I have observed this behavior on several builds using X64 versions of Ultimate and Home Premium; have not observed with X32 versions or with Professional, although I have little experience with these versions.

The symptoms are that the system is left at idle for a period of minutes to hours, during which the screen(s) are turned off by the power management software.  There appears to be the need for a process to be operating in the background, such as a disk defragmenter, antivirus scanner, whatever, be it a MS service or a third party application.  If a service is active in the background when the user returns to the computer, after the monitor(s) have been blanked, moving the mouse appears to "turn the system back on," with the monitor(s) coming back on and the mouse being (initially) responsive, e.g. you can move the mouse cursor around the screen(s).  After anywhere from a few seconds to perhaps as much as 20 seconds, the mouse becomes frozen and won't move anymore.  At no time from when the system was "woken up" by the mouse, can you do anything with the mouse or keyboard, e.g. any attempts to click on an icon on the desktop, to start an application, even during the short period when the mouse will move, has no effect.