If there are some features to track user's login and logoff activities for Azure Sql Database? RRS feed

• Question

• I saw that there is a audit feature for azure sql database. I've checked this feature and found that the audit log have users login, login fail and any query operations records. But i didn't find any logoff activities from audit log. If it possible to view or track user's logoff activities?
    Friday, May 22, 2020 9:55 AM

Answers

• Hi, Thank you for your replly.

My case is we will add the extended event session on Azure Sql Database. So, about Azure Sql Database, we can only use queries to implement it. Actually, i am not very good at it. So, if you can provide some guideness links or docs for this topic. Much appreciate for it. 

Hi,

Microsoft provides a very short tutorial for Extended Event in this page:
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/relational-databases/extended-events/quick-start-extended-events-in-sql-server

It is not the best tutorial in my opinion, but can help you to create your first Extended Event monitoring.

I searched Google and unfortunately I did not like any of the tutorials which I found and checked. All these tutorials focuses on using the SSMS GUI, which in my opinion is not a good way to learn and understand what the GUI actually do for you. You must understand what is and how tro use Extended Event before solving specific issue using copy/paste of code which you do not understand. You must find a tutorial which focus on transact SQL demonstration in my opinion.

I cannot write and add in a forum thread a full tutorial, and there are many online :-)

What I can do is to provide you a full step-by-step demonstration of your scenario and includes the full solution which you are looking for. It is recommended to first learn about Extended Event before you go top my post

Here is a full scenario and solution:

Azure SQL Database - Audit LOGOUT using Extended Events

signature   Ronen Ariely