none
Having problems accessing Roaming Profiles on new Windows 7 PC on SBS/Win 2003 Network.

General discussion

• Hi,

I'm a networking novice trying to add a new Windows 7 Desktop PC to our existing XP Desktop family in the office. All of the PC's are linked into a SBS/Windows 2003 Server, which I've managed to get the Win7 PC added to.

I've got the Internet working, the Network Printers working, our (network based) Call Management Software working, and I can access the shared files which we all store in a pre-determined area on the Network Server. I'm even able to access and run the SBS Server screen on the Win7 Desktop as a remote web-based access, so it looks like I've done everything else, but ...

... It seems the one thing I cannot do is the Roaming Profiles. I can log into the Win7 Desktop using a Roaming Profile ID and it recognises and allows that particular user access, so it's clearly finding the details on the server and allowing the user in as there is no local account set for the user to connect to. The problem I'm having is getting it to bring across all the existing settings (especially Desktop Shortcuts) and accessing the emails for that user.

I've read a lot of posts on this (and other forums) and they all seem to say that when you access the Win7 PC with a Roaming User, it will create a v2 version of the old XP Profile as they are incompatible, but so far I've not seen any v2 versions of anything. I take it that I have failed to set-up something, or missed a setting somewhere to get the Roaming element kicked in.

I've seen a lot of threads try to talk you through and go into the technicalities of all the various Network Tools & Settings, but I find that being a total novice I'm just running around in circles and not getting anywhere.

Is there anyone who can help me on this with a more basic 'type this, click on this, tick this' approach as I'm sure I'll be OK with it once I've been guided through it once.