none
PowerShell v6 EapConfigXmlStream Issue in VPNClient Module RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to add a VPN connection in PowerShell and figured out all the other switches, but I am new to PowerShell and can't find anything that I can understand about EapConfigXmlStream and without it in the command the command fails.

PS C:\Windows\system32> Add-VpnConnection -Name Test-VPN -ServerAddress "URL" -TunnelType L2tp -EncryptionLevel Maximum -AuthenticationMethod MsChapv2 -SplitTunneling $True -AllUserConnection $False -L2tpPsk "Key" -RememberCredential $False -UseWinLogonCredential $False -EapConfigXmlStream  -PassThru

Add-VpnConnection : Missing an argument for parameter 'EapConfigXmlStream'. Specify a parameter of type 'System.Xml.XmlDocument' and try again.
    At line:1 char:280
    + ... tial $False -UseWinLogonCredential $False -EapConfigXmlStream  -PassT ...
    +                                               ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        + CategoryInfo          : InvalidArgument: (:) [Add-VpnConnection], ParameterBindingException
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : MissingArgument,Add-VpnConnection

I am using MsChapv2 in the Win 10 Pro client and not using any EAP setting.

I also tried setting it up manually in Win 10 Pro and modifying it with the following only to get:

PS C:\Windows\system32> Set-VpnConnectionIPsecConfiguration -ConnectionName Castle_VPN -AuthenticationTransformConstants None -CipherTransformConstants AES256 -DHGroup Group14 -EncryptionMethod AES256 -IntegrityCheckMethod SHA256 -PfsGroup PFS2 -AllUserConnection $False -PassThru True

Set-VpnConnectionIPsecConfiguration : A positional parameter cannot be found that accepts argument 'False'.
    At line:1 char:1
    + Set-VpnConnectionIPsecConfiguration -ConnectionName Castle_VPN -Authe ...
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        + CategoryInfo          : InvalidArgument: (:) [Set-VpnConnectionIPsecConfiguration], ParameterBindingException