none
Windows 7 wont boot, black screen with white cursor

Question

• good afternoon,

i am an IT tech from the UK and friends machine is expericing something simalr to the balck screen of death, when you try to boot the machine it just wont boot to Win 7 and just sits on a balck screen with a white cursor.

we have tried to repair windows and nothing works as soon as the unit reboots the machine goes straight back to the black screen.

i have tried to make my friend understand that this is not the simply balck screen of death problem as we are unable to boot to safe mode or even access the OS in anyway.

it has been suggested to rebuild the machine using a new hard drive but he is reluctant to do this.

has anyone came across this problem before?

Monday, November 22, 2010 2:47 PM

Answers

• Please try to boot into Last Known Good configuration.

Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread. ”
    Thursday, November 25, 2010 7:36 AM
  • Can specific more on the laptop/desktop model?

If you are using HP laptop, can try to change the "Bit-Shift" to "LBA-Assist" on the BIOS setting.

Most of my machine worked after that setting.

GBK
    Thursday, November 25, 2010 8:52 AM

All replies

• Either the hard drive has crashed or the motherboard has failed.  If you don't see any BIOS or POST information on the screen then most likely the motherboard has failed.  If you see BIOS or POST information then the hard drive needs to be removed and checked to see if it's defective.  If the drive has failed there is absolutely no choice as to whether to replace it or not.  If the morherboard has failed the hard drive should boot up on another system if it is the same or very similar to the original.