none
Optimize Drives System Reserved (SSD) Needs optimization. Clicking Optimize immediately stops and doesn't Optimize is this a problem?

Question

• I am new to windows 8 (now 8.1), and more importantly SSDs. In Optimize Drives my System Reserved is listed as Never run and Needs optimization, but it will not Optimize manually or from the Scheduler. When clicking Optimize for a split second you can see it says running under Last run but goes back to Never run and same with Needs optimization it shows trim for second then back to Need optimization. Is this a problem if so how do I fix it?
    Monday, October 21, 2013 11:43 AM

Answers

All replies

• It looks like other people are having the same issue and the fix for that is to exclude the SSD from the default scheduled maintenance and set up a new event in Task Scheduler that will just retrim the drive once per week.

Cheers,

Lance

Monday, October 21, 2013 12:38 PM
  • Is there a how to on this? I didn't get any trim software with my SSD
    Monday, October 21, 2013 1:02 PM
  • Hi,

You can refer to WIKI article about Trim. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trim_(computing)

Hope this helpful.

Roger Lu
    TechNet Community Support

Wednesday, November 06, 2013 9:17 AM
  • Could you please explain how to do that step by step?
    Thursday, January 09, 2014 4:23 AM
  • +1 for that - can anyone explain step-by-step please?  

What confuses me is that I see that in Task Scheduler (under Microsoft > Windows > Defrag) there is a scheduled task already set up.

Also, I typed into the command prompt "fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify" which returned "0" telling me that Trim is active.  So, if this is all working correctly, why is my Defrag tool telling me that the system reserved partition requires optimisation???

• Edited by Horrgakx1 Friday, April 11, 2014 7:42 AM
    Friday, April 11, 2014 7:24 AM
  • For some reason, optimisation of the System Reserved partition always fails with this error: -