none
Error opening Network Zip files RRS feed

• Question

• Hey all,

I am a Helpdesk technician at my company and we have had multiple users report that they get an error when attempting to open ZIP files. These files are on our network file server. The error message received is "Windows cannot open the folder. The Compressed (zipped) Folder is invalid". We have installed 7-zip on a couple of the users PC's for a temporary fix, but there are over 150 users in our network and that is alot of time to go to each PC and install that. So far we have heard from about 15 that are having this issue. We are running Windows 7 64 bit. I have searched all over the web for a fix, and have come up with nothing. This issue appears to have started about a month ago....around 9/15/2015....maybe a microsoft update?  For now we are implementing 7-zip until we can get a Microsoft fix. Any ideas or fixes would be great! Thanks in advance.

We have noticed that if the user restarts their PC that the problem goes away for a spell, but returns unprompted. We are using Dell machines and HP Thin Clients...It is happening on both. We have checked the error logs and nothing egregious shows up.

Tuesday, October 6, 2015 3:38 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Since this issue disappear after PC reboot, it might be a temporary problem.

Can you reproduce this issue again?

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help, and unmark the answers if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Allen Wang
    TechNet Community Support

Thursday, October 15, 2015 4:05 AM

All replies

• Since it is more than one user I suspect the issue is not local but perhaps a networking issue.  Are all the users experiencing the problem on the same subnet?  Can you tell us more about the network topology?

Wanikiya and Dyami--Team Zigzag

Tuesday, October 6, 2015 3:56 PM