none
Where can I download a copy of cdrom.sys for Win7? Mine is corrupt.

Question

• Need help regarding cdrom.sys. Win7 will not repair the existing file and I can not find one to download with instructions on how to install it.

Thanks for the help. I'm not an IT pro, but have been using computers, building them and repairing since Commodore 64 days.

Jim McCants
    Saturday, February 27, 2010 3:58 AM

Answers

• IF you did an upgrade from Vista, you might have some conflicts. I suggest a clean install in that case.

IF the system file checker fails, then try an in place upgrade from your DVD.

Vote if answered or helpful, I am running for Office (joke)! IT/Developer, Windows/Linux/Mainframe RaidMax Smilodon, 680W, Asus M2NBP-VM CSM, AMD X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2-800, HD2400 Pro, more details on my site, need a new boot disk, existing one is 5 years old
    • Proposed as answer by Vivian Xing Monday, March 01, 2010 6:37 AM
    • Marked as answer by Vivian Xing Monday, March 08, 2010 3:03 AM
    Sunday, February 28, 2010 12:51 AM

All replies

• Hi DiamondJim57,
    What is the issue? Do you have an optical drive that is not visible?
    If yes, try this: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314060

Use the Vista (Fix it myself) method to manually change the registry settings. Of course, backup your registry before making any changes. Mr. Fix IT may work for you also.

Alternatively, if you truly have a missing or corrupted file, insert the installation DVD, restart and boot from the DVD, and choose the repair option.
    Saturday, February 27, 2010 11:57 AM