none
Windows 7 Backup - System image includes non system disk

Question

• Hi,

I am trying out windows 7 backup, hoping at last that I won't need a 3rd party backup solution.  So far so bad!

My first problem is how ridicilously slow the backup is, but this has been discussed at length elsewhere.  My second problem is the backup stalls when I try to backup a folder which I know has got various bits of malware in.  I am an IT pro and use the files in this folder for testing purposes.  OK fair enough I guess, although I think the backup should handle this event a bit more elegantly.  So I've zipped and password protected the offending files to hide them from the AV (security essentials by the way)

The final problem which I just can't understand is that when I try to create an image of my system drive, backup wants to add my D drive (which is purely a data drive) to the image.  My D drive is huge and I don't want to include it in a system image.  I keep my system drive lean and mean for exactly this purpose but now I can't back it up because the total size of C and D drives combined exceed the capacity of my backup drive.

I know for a fact that the D drive has no consequence to the system boooting or operating, I have disconnected it and windows boots up just fine.  In computer management the D Drive is not showing up as a system drive, so why does windows think it is?  And why isn't there a power user mode wher I can choose exactly what I want in a system image, I understand you're trying to make windows easy to use for the average Joe, but this lack of functionality and in depth control feels more like a Mac than windows.... and I hate macs.

So can anyone shed any light as to why my D drive is being flagged as a system disk, otherwise it's back to 3rd party solutions... AGAIN

Thanks
    Tuesday, December 01, 2009 10:02 PM

Answers