Windows 7 - mapping home drive - inconsistent, mostly success, some (too many) failures RRS feed

• Question

• Context:

Windows servers and clients using both wired and Wireless connections.

1 Windows 2008 R2 domain controller and 1 Windows 2003 domain controller.

Clients are a mix of Windows 7 and Windows XP (with some Vista here and there).

Home drives are mapped the "traditional" way, in the Active Directory user properties tab "Profile".

For example:

V: to \\MYDOMAIN\SHARED_FOLDERS\STUDENTS\%username%

Yes, we use DFS.

When did this start happening? Did it work before?

Last week.

I work in a school. Teachers and students were out for the summer. Last year, no one noticed the problem I'll describe in more detail below.

So yes, drive mapping worked before (and still does... I would say over 75% of the time.

What has changed

DFS?

We have used DFS for years. Students had shares that used DFS. Most teachers did not but I changed that this summer.

However, the problem occurs both for students -  that were on DFS - and teachers that were not. Moreover, some teachers were already on DFS last year - the transition to the new storage location with DFS in use was gradual.

VLANs?

We introduced a new wireless network with new switches and access points. So now we have a mixture of old (Netgear and 3Com) and new (Cisco) switches.

However, the problem does occur on a VLAN where only the old switches are involved. The path from the client to the server has not changed:

client -> netgear switch 1 -> netgear switch 2 -> 3Com switch -> server(s)

So what's the problem?

When the user logs in, they have no mapped drive. Visualize the "My Computer" or "Computer" window open with just the C: drive and then the D: drive if a CD/DVD drive is present (not always the case in new laptops).