none
Text To Speech Adminiatrator RRS feed

• Question

• Hi.

We currently have an issue with text to speech needing Administrator rights for standard users on our domain.  No user is able to turn the option on.  The option is in ease of access under the heading interaction called Speech

I am unable to post a screen shot as it is asking me to verify my account.  The only GPO setting I can find is in control panel and reginal options. This is set to allow users to enable.

We are a school and desperate to get this working

Many thanks in advance

Wednesday, October 9, 2019 8:03 AM

All replies

• Do you have the Administrator's right?

In a domain An Administrator has the right to assign the right to the Standard User

If you are the Admin then what exact error are you getting?

S.Sengupta,Microsoft MVP Windows and Devices for IT, Windows Insider MVP

Wednesday, October 9, 2019 1:25 PM
  • Hi,

Yes I am an admin.  How do I assign permissions to a standard user to enable them to enable this?

It works as an Admin no problem but we cant give all our users Admin rights unless we can give them Admin to just this?

Wednesday, October 9, 2019 2:09 PM
  • Hi Darren, 

The function "test to speech" you mentioned in your thread located in a specific office product or configured in Settings?

I recommend to verify your account with the link below and post a capture here. 

How to Verify Your MSDN/TechNet Forums Account So that You Can Post Images and Links

If it occur in office product, we recommend to contact with Office team:

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/home?category=officeitpro&filter=alltypes&sort=lastpostdesc

Bests, 

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Thursday, October 10, 2019 8:26 AM
  • Hi,

The setting is within the system.  It is located in Settings / Ease of Access / Speech and "Turn on Speech Recognition"

Darren