none
Pull users and times from Excel and email if there are 5 or more in that time frame RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am trying to get a specific script working. I have an Excel sheet with data set up in the following format:

Monday Time In Time Out Lunch In Lunch Out
    User 1 7 4 1130 1230
    User 2 8 5 130 230

Is there a script I can use that will automatically send an email every hour when there are 5 or more of these users active and not on lunch?

I am willing to learn, not asking for the whole script to be written or anything. I'm having issues wrapping my head around how to generally handle this. Can powershell store time ranges or can I store two different times and have powershell return true if a third variable is between the two? I'm a JavaScript programmer and this is my first go at powershell so forgive me if this seems like a novice thing to ask. 

Thank you for any help!

• Edited by AHVDesign Friday, October 18, 2019 1:32 PM
    Friday, October 18, 2019 1:27 PM

All replies

• See https://superuser.com/questions/731723/one-excel-file-multiple-editing-users-live-updates

You are going to run into a problem with multiple users trying to update a single spreadsheet.

Since you know JavaScript, a better solution would be to build a small ASP.Net web site that accesses a SQL database to track user's times. Then write a console based C# program that queries the database and sends the email. Use the Windows task scheduler to run the C# program every hour. 

Or search the web for time tracking software and don't write anything. 

Friday, October 18, 2019 2:14 PM
  • Yeah after hitting a wall for 2 days now I've been leaning on just making a totally separate method of getting this notification emailed out. So far I've managed to get powershell to at least pull info from the cells using this: 

$excel = New-Object -Com Excel.Application
    $workbook = $excel.Workbooks.Open("C:\SecurityConcernsAndSuch\Schedule.xlsx")