none
Weird Internet Connectivity Issues with Vista

    Question

  • I've been having a weird Internet connectivity issue over the last 3 days.

     

    I am intermittently and frequently loosing Internet connection with following error

     

    "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage"

     

    Generally clicking 'Refresh' solves the problem.

     

    Sometimes the error reads "The Address is not valid" and  http:/// appears in the address bar

     

    Clicking on Diagnose Connection Problems results in one of four possible outcomes;

     

    1. Could not connect to the web server
    Host may be down

     

    2.Windows found a problem that cannot be repaired

     

    3.The TCP Setting is not compatible with your router
    Turn off the TCP setting that is incompatible with your router

     

    4. Windows did not find any problem with this computers network connection

     

    3. Being the most common of the four outcomes.

     

    There are a number of facts here that might be significant.

     

    1. All browsers on the machine (mozilla, opera and safari and IE7) are all effected, so this is not an IE7 problem

     

    2. Other Vista machines on this network are experiencing similar problems.

     

    3. Other Windows XP machines on this network are not experiencing the same problem. (Suggesting this is a Vista issue)

     

    4. The server which is the default gateway for the network is not experiencing any such Internet problems.

     

    5. No malware or viruses appear to be present.

     

    6. checkdns gives my domain the all-clear, dns-record-wise (as I was wondering if my dns config was messed up)

     

    7. I have no problem accessing internal web sites or connecting to file shares (Using ethernet cable not wireless)

     

    8. I have tried disabling all add-ons in IE7 to no effect

     

    9. I've booted up in safe mode with networking to no effect.

     

    10. This problem has appeared only recently, I've been using Vista for months now.

     

    Is anyone else out there experiencing any similar issues, and if so, did you get to the bottom of the problem?

     

    Waiting to hear...

     

    Al

    Friday, April 11, 2008 6:55 PM

Answers

  • In this case, all was down to DNS problems, and not a Vista issue at all

     

    As my workstations are part of a network, I checked the forwarders on my internal domain, cleared the DNS cache, and all was well. Sorry to have spawned such a long and difficult thread.

    Wednesday, April 23, 2008 6:33 PM

All replies

  •  

    I have the same problem too, and I looked up on the forums, there are lots of Vista users experienced the same problems. One of moderators tried to give us the solution, but all those solutions didn't help at all.

    There must be something wrong from windows update that kill the internet browser.

    It happened after installing the windows update.

    I tried to go back to restore point to previous state, and it's still the same, even to the previous day.

    None of internet browsers able to connect to internet, but other things connected, such as yahoo messenger, msn, aim, etc.

     

    Can you moderators do something about it? We really appreciate if you guys can help us as soon as possible. Thank you very much.

     

    Mamora
    Monday, April 14, 2008 4:27 PM
  • I've experienced the very same problem with an HP laptop running Vista SP1 with the wired Ethernet but not the built-in wireless. For some reason it ignores the DHCP setting and defaults to a strange IP address but it also sees a duplicate IP on the network and goes off line, then comes back.  Strangely enough it can see other PCs on the network but the server can't see it so it has partial connectivity.  I can set it up with static IP and make work, but for some reason the Server that pushes the antivirus update to the agent on the laptop indicates that the laptop is missing DNS information.  This is very strange indeed. I hope someone can figure this out.

     

    Ken

     

     

    Tuesday, April 15, 2008 4:48 AM
  • Hi,

     

    I would like to know what network adapter is being used on the Windows Vista machines.

     

    Meanwhile, please perform the following steps for troubleshooting:

     

    1.    Turn off Auto-Tuning
    ==================

    a. Click Start, and type cmd in the Start Search box.
    b. Right-click the cmd icon, and select
    Run as Administrator.
    c. In the Command Prompt, type the following command:

    netsh interface tcp set global autotuninglevel=disabled

    d. After that, please check the result.

    Note: Please re-enable Auto Tuning by typing the following command if the above steps cannot fix the issue:
     
    netsh interface tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal 


    2.    Run the Internet Connectivity Evaluation Tool.

    The Internet Connectivity Evaluation Tool checks your Internet router to see whether it supports certain technologies. The tool is intended to be run from a home network behind a home Internet (NAT) router. This tool requires administrator credentials to run. For more information, visit the following Microsoft Web site:

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/using/tools/igd/default.mspx

    3.    Use SFC command to check the system file.

    Some Windows Vista functions may not work, or Windows Vista may stop responding
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929833

     

    Hope it helps.

     

    Tuesday, April 15, 2008 5:55 AM
    Moderator
  • None of that helped.  didn't run SFC.
    Tuesday, April 15, 2008 7:26 AM
  • Thanks for all the help.  Disabling the Auto Tuning stabilized the PC.  It now stays on the network with DHCP enabled although it can't join the domain due to the following error.

     

    "An attempt to resolve the DNS name of a DC in the domain being joined has failed.  Please verify this client is configured to reach a DNS server that can resolve names in the target domain."

     

    As for the network adapter, device manager report it as a "NVIDIA nForce Networking Adapter".  I also ran the ICE tool and everything was okay except for the router not being UPnP.  The SFC reported that it replaced some files but it was unable to correct all.  Correcting the problem is beyond my level of expertise. This PC has not been in use for long and it has only been updated by MS update with latest of everything.  I think this whole industry is missing a very important factor in user experience.  I personally don't want to be a PC guru to use it and to expect the average user to go through all of this is expecting every driver to overhaul the engine in their vehicle every 10 days.  I can see why the general consensus with vista is to leave it alone and stay with XP.

     

     

     

    Ken

    Tuesday, April 15, 2008 4:34 PM
  • Hi Ken,

     

    As we have received some feedback that certain network related issue may occur after installing Nvidia update, if there is any update installed for the Nvidia device, please roll back to the previously driver to check whether the issue disappears.

     

    If it does not help, please collect the following information on the Windows Vista machine for further research:

     

    1.    Please export the Window IP Configuration by using the command ipconfig /all.

    2.    Run nslookup domainname to check the result.

     

    Hope it helps.

     

    Wednesday, April 16, 2008 6:33 AM
    Moderator
  • Thanks,

     

    I rolled back the NVIDIA driver. I'm able to see network drives but still unable to join the domain.  Same DNS issue.  nslookup confirms that the DC is there and the domain is active but no cigar.  I can't even ping this PC.  I disabled the firewall and no go.  Vey frustrating.

     

    Ken

    Thursday, April 17, 2008 1:16 AM
  • Hi,

     

    I've found WINDOWS UPDATE to be the culprit.  Haven't had 100% success, but a system restore helped until the Updates came again.  Now I'm going to approve all updates and hopefully avoid some optional updates that break IE7.

     

    Sunday, April 20, 2008 8:45 PM
  • Hi anjgupta,

     

    There is a known issue regarding IE7 after installing the update MS08-024. Please refer to the KB article (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/942818/) to check if it can resolve your issue.

     

     

    Hi Ken,

     

    I noticed that the issue you encounter now (cannot join domain) is different from the original one (cannot access website) discussed in this thread. To avoid confusion and resolve the issue more efficiently, I suggest you create a new thread for this issue.

     

    In addition, I would like you to help collect the following information:

     

    1.    Is the DNS server also a Domain Controller?

    2.    What system is being used as the Domain Controller? Windows Server 2003? Windows Small Business Server 2003? Or other product?

    3.    How many DC and DNS server are there in the domain?

    4.    Are all Windows Vista machine encountered the same issue?

     

    Thank you for your understanding and cooperation.

     

    Monday, April 21, 2008 10:17 AM
    Moderator
  • I appreciate the reply.

     

    However - I've now uninstalled both Symantic and Spybot, rebooted and have the same issue.  The pages frequently don't load and the diagnostic often says "turn on tcp performance"  or "turn off TCP conflict ..."

     

    I'd really appreciate help - I'm convinced it's due to some windows update -

     

    Anjali

     

    Tuesday, April 22, 2008 1:02 AM
  •  

    There is an update that was downloaded recently...  actually a new version of an old one.  I think you should remove it.  Oh yeah.  here's the catch.  you CAN'T remove it.  I had to use system restore... and guess what... its STILL THERE!?!?!?!?   I think the other one must be an older version.  Its what broke my fix for my dhcp issues.  i will NO LONGER allow microsoft to update vista.  If i NEVER AM ABLE TO GET ANOTHER UPDATE BECAUSE OF THEIR DEPENDENCE on this ONE UPDATE...... SO BE IT.

     

    Here's the kb you should look at.  but again, you'll have to do a system restore to get rid of it.  for some reason system restore was only keeping like 7 days on my computer, so luckily i did that before they disappeared or something.  I'll also give you some info as to what it breaks.  It also broke my usb logitech and bluetooth mice.

     

    The update is:  938371

     

    Here's some reading literature:

     

    http://anotherlab.rajapet.net/2008/04/microsoft-admits-that-kb-938371-kills.html

     

    http://anotherlab.rajapet.net/2008/04/kb-938371-woes-continue.html

     

    http://groups.google.com/group/microsoft.public.windows.vista.hardware_devices/browse_frm/thread/cc5a1872b053df04

     

    I believe the first update happened on 4/08/08.  maybe i'll restore back to then myself to get rid of it completely.

     

    Its worth a shot anjali.

     

    Found this from a windows vista blog:  This is exactly what the problem is with the state of windows:

     

     

    Posted by BrendaB12


    After installing KB938371 I had to revert back to a previous saved state as my MICROSOFT USB mouse stopped functioning. Who knew that in 2008 we'd still be having problems with USB ports and mouse drivers functioning in the biggest software release in history. Let's not forget that it's been a year and a half, the first SP1 has been released and this is STILL the state of the software? The "wow" is certainly now.

    Nothing Microsoft or anyone else suggested fixed the problem and since the KB isn't uninstallable (what a COMPLETE JOKE!!!) the only thing I could do was roll everything back and delay upgrading. At this point it will probably be yet ANOTHER year before Microsoft can even fix this basic OS functionality.

    If anyone has any enlightenment, please let me (and the others posting here) know the solution. The help-line by the way, was borderline rude and was unable to solve the problem. Free support is worthless when there is no solution to be found.

     

     

    Tuesday, April 22, 2008 5:11 AM
  • Hi,

    Please see below for answers to your questions;

     

    1. No

    2. Windows 2003 SBS

    3. 1 and 1

    4.  Yes

     

    Tanks,

     

    Ken

    Wednesday, April 23, 2008 6:23 PM
  • In this case, all was down to DNS problems, and not a Vista issue at all

     

    As my workstations are part of a network, I checked the forwarders on my internal domain, cleared the DNS cache, and all was well. Sorry to have spawned such a long and difficult thread.

    Wednesday, April 23, 2008 6:33 PM
  •  AlLomax wrote:

    I've been having a weird Internet connectivity issue over the last 3 days.

     

    I am intermittently and frequently loosing Internet connection with following error

     

    "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage"

     

    Generally clicking 'Refresh' solves the problem.

     

    Sometimes the error reads "The Address is not valid" and  http:/// appears in the address bar

     

    Clicking on Diagnose Connection Problems results in one of four possible outcomes;

     

    1. Could not connect to the web server
    Host may be down

     

    2.Windows found a problem that cannot be repaired

     

    3.The TCP Setting is not compatible with your router
    Turn off the TCP setting that is incompatible with your router

     

    4. Windows did not find any problem with this computers network connection

     

    3. Being the most common of the four outcomes.

     

    There are a number of facts here that might be significant.

     

    1. All browsers on the machine (mozilla, opera and safari and IE7) are all effected, so this is not an IE7 problem

     

    2. Other Vista machines on this network are experiencing similar problems.

     

    3. Other Windows XP machines on this network are not experiencing the same problem. (Suggesting this is a Vista issue)

     

    4. The server which is the default gateway for the network is not experiencing any such Internet problems.

     

    5. No malware or viruses appear to be present.

     

    6. checkdns gives my domain the all-clear, dns-record-wise (as I was wondering if my dns config was messed up)

     

    7. I have no problem accessing internal web sites or connecting to file shares (Using ethernet cable not wireless)

     

    8. I have tried disabling all add-ons in IE7 to no effect

     

    9. I've booted up in safe mode with networking to no effect.

     

    10. This problem has appeared only recently, I've been using Vista for months now.

     

    Is anyone else out there experiencing any similar issues, and if so, did you get to the bottom of the problem?

     

    Waiting to hear...

     

    Al

    Monday, November 24, 2008 6:49 AM
  • Hi anyone can help me with my problem?

    I had my window vista 32-bit laptop w/in couple of months my YM had been stop responding .

    Ive tried alredy uninstalled and reinstalled my YM but still has dsame problem it will just work 4 the meantime but in a long run it will not responding again!

    I have tried to Reformat my computer for 2 several times using my operating disk,but my YM will just work 4 a week!

    I dont know whats realy happening w/ my computer.

    Please help me to resolve my problem!

    And 2nd prob is i cant install a plugins(adobeflash)in my firefox and Google chrome beta!

     

    Im lookin 4wards to hear from you guys!Hope u can help me!

    Thanks in Advance!

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Monday, November 24, 2008 7:04 AM