none
Always On VPN RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

If I use public certificate for SSTP connction, for any other reasons, does Always On VPN require CRL and OCSP of internal PKI to be available over internet for clients to establish VPN connection?

Thanks

Mahesh

Mahi

Thursday, October 31, 2019 8:00 PM

Answers

• You won't have any issues issuing multiples certificates to the same user on multiple devices for Always On VPN for sure. However, I have no experience with EFS or Secure Email so I can't comment specifically on those scenarios.

Richard M. Hicks
    Founder and Principal Consultant - Richard M. Hicks Consulting, Inc.
    directaccess.richardicks.com

• Marked as answer by mahi Blr Saturday, November 9, 2019 8:00 PM
    Saturday, November 9, 2019 4:56 PM

All replies

• No, not at all. Any certificate revocation checks will be performed by hosts/services already on your internal network. No need to publish CRL/OCSP publicly if you are using a public TLS certificate for SSTP.

Richard M. Hicks

Thursday, October 31, 2019 10:38 PM
  • Thanks for taking your time to answer my question Richard!

I have read your blogs on Always On VPN, its really helpful and gives lot of valuable information. I am so pleased to see your response!!!

Would you be so kind to answer couple more questions;

1.  Is it possible to use split tunneling and restrict VPN to specific applications with Always On VPN Device Tunnel?
    2. Are there any cons using TrafficFilterList (to make certain management servers accessible before user signin) with  Always On VPN Device Tunnel.
    3. What is the best practice for IP address assignment for VPN clients, using DHCP or Static address pool? 
    4. I did not find any MS documents on sizing RAS servers in terms on capacity. Any best practices around it?

Thanks in advance!

Mahi

Friday, November 1, 2019 11:12 AM
  • My pleasure. :)

Answers to your queries...