none
subinacl.msi

Question

•  

I have windows vista nad i'm getting the update error 80070005.

I found a forum that says what to do but i cannot find the subinacl.msi file from the link the forum provides.

I'm not very good with computers and my pc is brand new and i don't want to destroy it.

Also the service pack 1 update failed for some reason and i dont know how to fix this either

also i m connected to the internet but the pc icons on my taskbar shown that I'm not connected.

Could someone help me please???????

Thanks

Sia

Tuesday, August 26, 2008 2:49 PM

Answers

• Are you connected via ethernet or wirelessly. It could be that you are connected via one and the other says network disconnected. To reset your Windows update follow these steps. Credit to MS MVP's and MSFT's for this text.

Carefully perform the following steps to reset the Windows Update component.

Make sure that all of the commands are entered 'exactly' as shown. 

1. Stop the Background Intelligent Transfer Service and the Automatic Updates service. To do this, follow these steps:

a. Click Start/All Programs/Accessories. Right click 'Command Prompt' and select 'Run As Administrator'. Click 'Continue' on the UAC prompt.

b. At the command prompt, type the following 2 commands, and  press ENTER after 'each' command:

net stop wuauserv
    net stop bits 

2. Rename the "Catroot2" folder. To do this, follow these steps:

Type the following 3 commands, and then press Enter after 'each' command.

net stop cryptsvc
    ren %systemroot%\System32\Catroot2 oldcatroot2
    net start cryptsvc

3. Rename the "SoftwareDistribution" folder:

Type the following command, and then press Enter.

ren %systemroot%\SoftwareDistribution SoftwareDistribution.old

4. Register the files that are used by Windows Update and Microsoft Update. To do this, follow these steps: