HP printer problems with Windows 10 RRS feed

• Question

• I upgraded my home laptop and installed new drivers etc in 2015, when pushed to do so by MS. I had persistent problems getting my HP 8610 all-in-one printer to work, and finally settled on using an ethernet cable instead of WiFi, and other work-arounds that HP recommended (they insist the problem is within Windows 10 -- I am inclined to believe them because I had none of the problems with my previous OS (I am not a techie, so please bear with me.)  I was given a new laptop at Christmas, running Win 10 and am STILL in the process of setting it up (I would like to have a few words with the 'developers' of Outlook someday), inevitably due to problems with Win 10.

I cannot get my printer to print consistently.  It will print one document sent from my laptop via ethernet, but the subsequent ones will never print -- just showing a "printer error" problem, or not reading that the machine is on, when it clearly is on next to me. I finally was advised to set up the wifi with a TC port (?) so that I can print from my phone, which is working, but now I need a permanent fix to the laptop as I am hoping to begin working part-time from home (I'm disabled).

In trying to resolve one of the possibly related issues today, I found the following error message:

Device SWD\PRINTENUM\WSD-f596dd1c-34c3-4710-90aa-bacea3846812.0069 requires further installation.

But I cannot figure out what to do about it.  I've lost count of the number of uninstalls/reinstalls I have done.  Nothing seems to work.

Can you please help?  I need to be able to use my equipment without these constant problems.

Thank you

D2read

Saturday, April 29, 2017 8:09 PM

All replies

• Hi d2read,

I recommend you to make IP address of your printer be fixed, i.e. not DHCP, but fixed IP address (this would be a work on/with your printer). and modify port for your printer via Control Panel > Hardware and sound > Device and printer.