none
Not able to Activate Windows 10 RRS feed

• Question

• I am a retired IT professional and have successfully updated many PC's for family and friends from Win 7 to Win 10, in the past. 

In Jan 2019, I started work at a church using their old, but powerful PC.  It is an HP with 8G Ram, a 2.93 Ghz duo core Intel CPU, and 500G hard drive, connected to a network server.    It originally had Windows Vista (according to a tag on the outside) and eventually had been upgraded to Win 7 Home.  

We joined Tech Soup (for non-profits) and through them, acquired licenses to upgrade 5 PCs.  I did mine first and was led to believe I could use the Enterprise version upgrade to go to Win 10 Pro.  I have since been told that I needed a different version, which I purchased.  To compound the problem, I installed the Win 10 Pro N version.  Now I can't activate it.

I was advised by our local on-call Tech Support, that I only needed to get a valid key and I would not need to reinstall anything.  However, that has not been the case.  I believe the Network version is my bigger problem.  Yesterday, I tried going through the setup again, but it doesn't allow me to choose a different version.

Please advise me as to what to do now.  This has been going on since Aug 7th. I'm not even sure that restoring it to Windows 7 is still an option (my Windows.old/Recovery is empty).  Everything else is working fine; I just keep getting the "Activate Window" ghost in the bottom right hand corner of the monitor.  I've paid the fees and should be legal.  How do I change from Win 10 Pro N to Win 10 Pro and convey this to Microsoft? 

Wednesday, September 11, 2019 3:06 PM

All replies

• Hello,

What error message do you get when you try to activate?

What type of product key did you get? Version(windows 10?) and edition(Professional?) and Channel(volume, Retail, OEM?)?

Open an elevated CMD prompt

run DISM /online /gettargeteditions

This should list the editions that you can upgrade to.