none
Adding Drivers to Boot.wim in WDS

Question

• Hello Everyone,

I'm new with using WDS.  I'm currently have everything working..ex PXE boot and able to capture and restor images.

Today I ran into my first issue.  I have a new Lenovo M58 desktop which my boot.wim image doesn't have drivers for.  Can anyone please assist me with the simplest way to add drivers to the boot.wim image.

Also, I've noticed that uploading and deploying images with WDS is very slow.  Is there any way to make it faster or maybe compress the images ?

Thanks

Sean
    Tuesday, March 10, 2009 12:38 PM

Answers

•  There's a new feature in Server2008R2 that simplifies this. You can right click on a boot image in the WDS management console, and hit "Add Driver Packages to Image". You'll need to have already added the driver to the WDS driver store in order for this to work (another new Server08R2 feature.)
    • Marked as answer by Sean.Lumbania Wednesday, March 11, 2009 8:32 PM
    Wednesday, March 11, 2009 5:31 PM
  • Hi Guys,

You'll need to change the mount command as follows (Only applies if you are using the boot.wim from the Vista/W2K8 DVD):

Imagex /mountrw C:\boot.wim 2 C:\MOUNT

notice the "1" has been replaced with the number "2".

Regards,
    David
    • Proposed as answer by xrothgarx Thursday, June 11, 2009 11:54 PM
    • Marked as answer by Sean.Lumbania Monday, June 15, 2009 12:44 AM
    Thursday, June 04, 2009 11:55 AM
  • Hi Sean

If you haven't already, download and install WAIK. From <start><all programs><Microsoft Windows AIK> run Windows PE Tools Command

Mount your boot.wim
    (i assume boot.wim on C:\ and you have an empty folder called C:\MOUNT and your Driver is in c:\driver)

Imagex /mountrw C:\boot.wim 1 C:\MOUNT

Add driver

Peimg /inf:c:\driver\driver.inf c:\mount\windows

Save changes to boot.wim

Imagex /unmount /commit c:\mount

That should be it, just add the changed boot.wim to wds