Hyper-V Replica Question RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to Hyper-V Replica and have a few questions as listed below:

1. There are three volumes created on Hyper-V Primary Server C:\, D:\, and E:\. I have configured a VM and configured three hard disks as below:

-VHDX1 attached to SCSI controller 0 and kept in C:\ drive

-VHDX2 attached to SCSI controller 1 and kept in D:\ drive

-VHDX3 attached to SCSI controller 2 and kept in E:\ drive

On Replica Server, I have only C:\ drive created to hold data from C:\, D:\ and E:\ drive. 

Question: Do we also need to configure D:\ and E:\ drive on Replica Server also? 

2. In case of any failover to Replica Server, how VM is going to retain the same IP Address that is configured on the Primary VM?

Thank you for your help in advance.

NRatawa

Monday, July 6, 2015 1:29 PM

Answers

• When you configure replica you specify where files will be stored so you do not need to have the same drive mapping. By default replica VM holds the same IP addressing.
    • Edited by user1268126481Banned Monday, July 6, 2015 1:36 PM
    • Proposed as answer by Leo Han Monday, July 13, 2015 9:29 AM
    • Marked as answer by Leo Han Thursday, July 16, 2015 8:03 AM
    Monday, July 6, 2015 1:35 PM
  • "will there be any performance issues?"

We really can't answer that question because you have not provided any information about the existing performance of your application other than saying it 'works great' with three separate spindles.  You will have to test your application in your environment to determine if performance will be impacted.  Maybe it will.  Maybe it won't.  Maybe it will be impacted, but the difference will not matter because you know it is a temporary situation.

. : | : . : | : . tim

Monday, July 6, 2015 1:56 PM
  • Thanks Tim!

That's the point - we know it's a temporary situation.