none
Problem removing certificates from a remote store RRS feed

• Question

• I have a certificate store on a remote machine where I want to remove all certificates from a machine store.  I'm very new at Powershell and unfortunately I couldn't find an exact example of code to do what I'm looking for however I managed to come up with this snippet.

$computer = "computer"

$store = new-object system.security.cryptography.x509certificates.x509Store "\\$computer\SMS", 'LocalMachine'
    $store.Open('ReadWrite')
    $certs = $store.Certificates
    $store.RemoveRange($certs)

This gives me an error when calling the method RemoveRange saying that "The procedure is out of range".  I can enumerate the certificates from this store fine and have verified that the $certs variable I'm trying to remove is of type X509Certificate2Collection.  What could be my problem here?

Monday, June 20, 2011 9:25 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Give you a sample as followed:

function Remove-Certificate

{

param([String]$certName,[String]$certStore)

$store = new-object -com "CAPICOM.Store"

$store.Open(1,"$certStore",130)

$certToDelete =( $store.Certificates | where { $_.SubjectName -like "*$certName*" })

if ($certToDelete -is [Object])

{

if ($certToDelete.PrivateKey -is [Object])

{

$certToDelete.PrivateKey.Delete()

$store.Remove($certToDelete)

}

}

$Store.Close()

For more information:

Windows PowerShell met CAPICOM

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/daiken/archive/2007/01/12/windows-powershell-met-capicom.aspx

Thanks.

Wednesday, June 22, 2011 6:53 AM
  • This example only appears to be local.  Can this be done remotely?
    Thursday, June 23, 2011 3:18 PM
  • Hi,

Yes, you can use the “Invoke-Command” to run this function on remote machines.

For more information:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd347578.aspx

http://blogs.technet.com/b/heyscriptingguy/archive/2011/06/13/use-powershell-invoke-command-for-remoting.aspx

Thanks.

Friday, June 24, 2011 8:53 AM