none
Read a text file and write some content to another text file RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm trying to write a powershell script for the below requirement, I'm new to powershell, can someone help me with solution. It would be a great help from you.

Requirement: I need to read a text file from the command prompt and provide the content to a test.exe (it is a executable file which sorts the folders provided in the location mentioned in input.txt file) and print the result into a output.txt file.

input text file: input.txt

=========================================================

[TestCase1]
    Name        = CheckPras
    FolderPath    = C:\Pras

[TestCase2]
    Name         = CheckTest
    FolderPath     = C:\test

[TestCase3]
    Name         = Checkg@@g)!
    FolderPath     = C:\g@@g)!
    =======================================================

Output file: output.txt (this should contain as below)

=============================================

TestCase1: details

TestCase2:details

TestCase3:details

Thanks in advance !!!!

Pras

Wednesday, May 23, 2012 10:34 AM

Answers

• I said: ... why not show us the script you have created to this point. We may then better deduce where you are stuck with it.

You said: c:\>Automation.ps1 -i input.txt -o output.txt

It appears you are stuck at the point just before any powershell coding has been written. If so, here are a few suggestions to start out with:

1. use a param statement to define the "-i" and "-o" command line parameter
    2. use get-content to read the input file as suggeted by powershell junior
    3. use a regex to extract the pertinent info from the input file as suggested by powershell junior
    4. use out-file to write the output to the output file

If the code you write to do this does not work post a copy of it back here along with any output or error messages that are displayed.

Al Dunbar

Friday, May 25, 2012 3:40 AM

All replies