none
Certutil access denied

Question

• Hi,
    I have a certificate authority running on a server 2008 machine. If I try to back it up using the certutil command from the regular command prompt, I get an access denied message but if I run it from the administrative command prompt, it executes perfectly. I am an administrator on the server. Any ideas as to why is this happening and if I can resolve it in any way?

Thanks.
    Thursday, May 14, 2009 8:34 PM

Answers

• Hi,

It seems the account is not a Backup Operator or a Certification Authority Administrator.  Please try the steps in the article below to configure permission. 

Add a certification authority backup operator
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc759299.aspx

Thanks.

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    Thursday, May 21, 2009 3:20 AM

All replies

• Sounds like behavior of the UAC. Administrative tasks and tools require elevation. The builtin Administrator and domain Administrator account bypass the UAC, by default.
    • Proposed as answer by RichJimenez Saturday, February 07, 2015 2:38 AM
    Saturday, May 16, 2009 5:31 PM
  • Hi,

I agree with Brandon, it may be caused by UAC. You can try the steps below to change UAC behavior.

Create a new GPO for administrators and navigate to:

[Computer Configuration/Policies/Windows Settings/Security Settings/Local Settings/Security Options]

Configure the following policy.

User Account Control: Run all administrators in Admin Approval Mode
    Configure User Account Control: Behavior of the elevation prompt for administrators in Admin Approval Mode to "Elevate without prompting".

Thanks.

Monday, May 18, 2009 6:08 AM