none
windows server 2012 settings to start a program by default

Question

• I am new to windows server 2012.

Can anyone show me the pointers as how do I start a particular program on connections.

I just need to run a bat file on connect.

I was able to do this successfully in windows server 2008 but 2012 turns out to be different.

Any pointers would be appreciated

Thursday, October 31, 2013 2:09 AM

Answers

All replies

• I think this question is in the wrong forum. To answer your question, there are three ways, The Startup folder is hidden by default in Windows 8 and Windows Server 2012. Solution 1 Open the Windows Run dialog by using the Windows Key + R key combination. Type %AppData% into the Run field and press enter. In the AppData folder that is opened, browse down through the following subfolders: -Microsoft -Windows -Start Menu -Programs You will find the Startup folder in the Programs folder. Solution 2 Open a Windows explorer window and type: C:\users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup Solution 3 Open a Windows explorer window and type: C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp you can also configure the file in group policy preferences to start on startup Or you can use the task schedular on server 2012.
    Saturday, November 02, 2013 9:02 AM
  • Hi,

The configurations are not very different between Windows Server 2012 and previous versions of Windows Server.

You can use the following two methods:

1. Run the Windows Remote Desktop Connection -> Options -> Programs -> Check Start the following program on connection -> Specify the path and file name.

Specify a program to start upon connection Remote Desktop Connection

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc782233(v=ws.10).aspx

2. You can also configure whether a program or the desktop appears when the user logs on to a remote session by applying the following Group Policy settings:

l  Start a program on connection