none
How to select correct boot partition from multi-partition .vhdx file?

Question

• I am relatively new to managing Hyper-V servers. I have been sent some .VHDX files that are the exports of disks from a a working Hyper-V server. However the C:\ drive is a partition of one of the supplied .VHDX files and I cannot figure out how to create a new VM that will boot from this existing C:\ drive (the original OS is Server 2008 R2 Standard Ed). The files supplied are structured as follows, according to the individual who supplied them:

PMDLINK-0.VHDX Drives C: and E:

PMDLINK-1.VHDX Drive F:

PMDLINK-2.VHDX Drive D:

I initially tried creating a new Hyper-V VM by using the 'New' > 'Virtual Machine' Wizard. I gave the VM a new name, stored the machine at the default location where there is plenty of disk space. For Generation type I was unsure so I have tried creating new machines of both Generation 1 and 2 types. Assigned 12GB RAM, selected 'Default Switch' for connection. For 'Connect Virtual Hard Disk' I selected the option 'Use an existing virtual hard disk' and set path to the 'PMDLINK-0.VHDX' file.

When configured as Generation 1 and I try to initially start the machine, I get message 'Missing operating system'

When configured as Generation 2 and I try to start the machine, I get message 'Start PXE over IPv4' and shortly after a further message 'No operating system was loaded. Your virtual machine may be configured incorrectly. Exit and re-configure your VN or click restart to retry the current boot sequence again'<o:p></o:p>

I have also tried mounting the source drive on my windows 10 laptop, which displays the following partitions once mounted: