none
Snapshot - General access denied error (0x80070005). RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

When trying to snapshot a VM i get:

'vm1' could not create auto virtual hard disk C:\Virtual Guests\vm1\vm1_B4F0796F-3EB5-4810-BA04-CA8E1DA3774C.avhd: General access denied error (0x80070005). (Virtual machine ID AE6E811F-A056-4A1C-A501-287914A13021)

I looked around on the web, and found that the 'Virtual Machines' group isn't on my server, and therefor isnt on the security tab for my snapshot folder.

Taken from this post: http://joesitblogandotherstuff.blogspot.com/2010/01/could-not-initiate-snapshot-operation.html

How do I manually create the 'Virtual Machines' group, so I can make snapshots work again?

KL_Dane
    Wednesday, June 2, 2010 12:07 PM

Answers

• Hi,

I have no experience with mounting iSCSI disk as a folder, I always mount it as a drive such as D:\ and then put my virtual machines on it, I think the guys here will mount the iSCSI disk just like me.

By the way, as you mentioned that “I have experience with HyperV since beta”, so I would like to know whether you mounted the iSCSI disk as a folder without any issue before you installed Windows Server 2008 R2.

Best Regards,

Vincent Hu

• Marked as answer by KL_Dane Tuesday, June 8, 2010 6:56 AM
    Monday, June 7, 2010 3:04 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Where did you check the “Virtual Machines”? On the folder of the virtual machine or the VHD files? General speaking, after you create a virtual machine, the folder of the virtual machine will get the “Virtual Machines” group in Security tab automatically.

By the way, please take a screen shot, upload it to your site and then paste the link here.

In addition, the following bog may help you.

Howto manually add a VM Configuration to Hyper-V

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/robertvi/archive/2008/12/19/howto-manually-add-a-vm-configuration-to-hyper-v.aspx

Best Regards,

Vincent Hu

Thursday, June 3, 2010 3:52 AM
  • Hi Vincent,