none
Question on Quorum

Question

• Hi Experts,

Couple of questions on Windows Clusters. I am not a cluster expert and look for some help to understand the concepts

1. In Win 2003 cluster, we have quorum disk and "Disk only quorum model". IF this quorum model is used, and if quorum disk is down, then cluster is down.   So, my question is what quorum disk contain?  All I know is, it contains cluster related information. But what kind of info is stored in quorum disk which is so critical.

2. Secondly, from Win 2008 and above cluster, we have new quorum models(i.e node majority, node + disk witness ...), in these new quorum models, do we still have quorum disk? And where does cluster information is stored? I came to know that cluster information is stored or replicated to all nodes and each node has its own copy.  I wanted to know is this true or not. pl correct me if am wrong. If this information is correct, how does the cluster info replication happens? Can anybody explain in simple terms?

Any links/msdn blogs or resources would be a great help for reference.

Thanks in advance.

Monday, October 13, 2014 9:06 PM

Answers

• This is like debating cassette players vs. VHS...

While interesting, they are outdated technologies that really aren't that relevant anymore.  How things work in Win2012 R2 are completely different... so it's really not worth your time to learn the already outdated concepts.  I recommend focusing on Win2012 R2.

Here's a presentation from TechEd that covers quorum discussion points... I hope it is helpful
    http://channel9.msdn.com/Events/TechEd/Europe/2013/MDC-B403#fbid=

Thanks!
    Elden

Tuesday, October 14, 2014 2:53 AM
    Owner