none
Server 2012 vs. Windows 7 / 8. What should a newbie choose?

Question

• Hi there!

Am here with a newbie question. Ive been running a Windows Home Server 2003 for several years, and learned alot had great use of it. But the hardware got old, and I wanted to buy a new server.

So, right now I am running my new server with Windows Server 2012 trail, and I've had quite alot of difficulties. So after getting stuck with a Certificate Autority-something, am starting to really wonder if I'd rather should use Windows 7 or 8 to run my server. Then I dont have to understand all the extra stuff comming with the server edition, but the reason I have this is also to learn how to setup a server.

What should I do? Everyone I know who's interested in server-management is using Linux, and am allways getting stuck with hours of googling, doing stuff that learn a bunch of, but takes me way too much time.

I really wanna learn, but am getting a little fed up with getting stuck all the time.

Just to mention it, am using my server mainly for http, php, mysql and ftp service, running file-sharing over my network, and stuff like that, but really enjoy the more advanced features I had on the server 2003 that I could experiment with.

What do you think?

Monday, January 07, 2013 8:28 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Based on information provided Windows 8 Pro will provide  http, php, mysql and ftp service, running file-sharing over your network.

Windows 2012 would be to much to handle for you.

Please help and appreciate others by using these features: "Propose As Answer", "Vote As Helpful" and "Mark As Answer"

Waqas

MS(SPM), MS(E&F), MCP, MCT, MCTS, MCITP, MCSE, MCPD, MCSD, MCDBA , Author
    Twitter: @waqas8777
    Linked In: http://www.linkedin.com/in/waqasm1

Tuesday, January 08, 2013 3:53 AM

All replies