none
Solving a Software RAID Problem with Diskpart

Question

• I am a developer, no administrator...

There is a Windows 2008 Server with two disks having a Software RIAD. One of the disks is marked as "missing". I try to reactivate the missing disk with the help of Disk Management. Immediately the message "The Plex is missing" is given (translated from German). I read about replacing a failed disk in http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc758037(WS.10).aspx. However, not being an administrator at all, I am somewhat unsure.

At the end of this thread there is some information from diskpart. By reading the above article, I understand...

• There are two disks, named "0" and "M0".
    • The disk "M0" is marked as missing ("fehlend" in German).

I would separate the disks with...

• break disk M0 nokeep

Then I would select a volume and add the previously missing disk...

• select volume 0
    • add disk M0

Do I have to do this for both volumes (partitions C and D)? Does adding a disk always mirror a complete disk? Or do I have to also execute?

• select volume 1
    • add disk M0

When will the previously missing disk be formatted? When "add disk M0" is executed? If so, is it ok to execute it twice (once for C and D)?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Michael G. Schneider

C:\Users\Administrator>diskpart

Microsoft DiskPart-Version 6.1.7601
    Copyright (C) 1999-2008 Microsoft Corporation.
    Auf Computer: S15564832

DISKPART> list disk

Datenträger ###  Status         Größe    Frei     Dyn  GPT
      ---------------  -------------  -------  -------  ---  ---
      Datenträger 0    Online         1397 GB      0 B   *
      Datenträger M0   Fehlend            0 B      0 B   *

DISKPART> list volume

Volume ###  Bst  Bezeichnung  DS     Typ         Größe    Status     Info
      ----------  ---  -----------  -----  ----------  -------  ---------  --------
      Volume 0     C   System       NTFS   Spiegelung    58 GB  Rd-Fehler  System