none
Windows Server 2016 - C:\Logs directory

Question

• Did anyone else notice the RTM of Windows 2016 installation includes a C:\Logs directory that is full of exported event logs from 9/12/2016? When you open up the logs, the events contain references to machines that I can only assume are Microsoft owned, possible developer machines.  For example "WIN-ES6N1AC3DVH" in the Application log file.

Maybe just me, but this seems likes an oops...someone left unintended log files on a RTM version of Windows???  I am not a developer, but isn't there supposed to be check-outs and sign-offs before going gold?  Or am I just blowing this out of proportion and these logs are intentional?

NK

• Edited by NJK-Work Friday, October 21, 2016 8:15 PM
    Friday, October 21, 2016 8:14 PM

Answers

All replies

• I don't have any files in \windows\logs folder older than my build. I looked in the application event log and found one 9/12/2016  "User Profile Service stopped"

Regards, Dave Patrick ....
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows Server] Datacenter Management

Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties or guarantees, and confers no rights.

• Proposed as answer by Todd Heron Saturday, October 22, 2016 12:40 AM
    • Unproposed as answer by NJK-Work Monday, October 24, 2016 3:57 PM
    Friday, October 21, 2016 11:14 PM
  • I can confirm the same.

There's a C:\Logs with 90 exported log files all dating from 9/12/2016.

In as well Server Core 2016 std/datacenter and Server 2016 std/datacenter sourced from MSDN and VLSC these files are present.

Kind regards,

Stephan Schwarz.

If one of these posts answered your question or issue, please click on "Mark as answer".

My Blog | Twitter: @Schwarz_Stephan | MCTS, MCITP, MCSA, MCSE (Charter Member), MCC-2011.
    Automatically determine target OU from ComputerName with PS for MDT2012 U1/ConfigMgr
    How to configure Windows RE/OEM Recovery Partition with MDT 2012 Update 1