none
Server 2012, Ubuntu 18.04.40, Real Time Clock grossly wrong. RRS feed

  • Question

  • I have a linux VM whose RTC is grossly wrong, and cannot figure out why.  This causes the date to be months off at times until chrony can get running.

    I posted in a HyperV forum but it was suggested I ask here, but I hate to split the discussion.  If you may be able to help, please consider doing so in this thread in the HyperV forum: 

    https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/windowsserver/en-US/bab415ad-db9b-44e7-9af6-8ee2417a03d9/real-time-clock-for-hyperv-guest-grossly-wrong?forum=winserverhyperv

    To whet your appetite here's a display of one symptom, the same command a could hours apart: 


    # timedatectl
                          Local time: Tue 2020-03-31 13:04:01 CDT
                      Universal time: Tue 2020-03-31 18:04:01 UTC
                            RTC time: Tue 2020-03-31 18:04:03  <<< pretty close 
                           Time zone: America/Chicago (CDT, -0500)
           System clock synchronized: yes
    systemd-timesyncd.service active: yes
                     RTC in local TZ: no
    # timedatectl  
                          Local time: Tue 2020-03-31 14:58:23 CDT
                      Universal time: Tue 2020-03-31 19:58:23 UTC
                            RTC time: Tue 2020-03-31 21:44:15  >>> now almost 2 hours off
                           Time zone: America/Chicago (CDT, -0500)
           System clock synchronized: yes
    systemd-timesyncd.service active: yes
                     RTC in local TZ: no
    
    Wednesday, April 1, 2020 2:36 PM

All replies