Upgrade domain controller 2012r2 to server 2016 RRS feed

• Question

• I have to upgrade a domain controller running server 2012r2 to server 2016. My plan was to upgrade the domain controller from 2012r2 to 2016. Then, migrate the domain controller to a new physical server running server 2016. The new server is all ready to go. I have server 2016 installed, updated and licensed. One of the members of this forum suggested I follow this method.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-server/identity/ad-ds/deploy/upgrade-domain-controllers#step-by-step-for-upgrading-to-windows-server-2016  

My question is, this method looks like I can do the domain controller upgrade to server 2016, and the migration at the same time. Am I correct about this? I have never done this before and I don't want to make a mistake. I'm sure their are many things that can go wrong.

Thank you.

Monday, July 6, 2020 3:34 PM

Answers

• Do not in-place upgrade it.

The prerequisite before introducing the first 2016 domain controller: domain functional level needs to be 2003 or higher

I'd use dcdiag / repadmin tools to verify health correcting all errors found before starting. Then stand up the new 2016, patch it fully, license it, join existing domain, add active directory domain services, promote it also making it a GC (recommended), transfer FSMO roles over (optional), transfer pdc emulator role (optional), use dcdiag / repadmin tools to again verify health, when all is good you can decommission / demote old one.

Also at some point after I'd recommend migrating sysvol replication from older FRS technology to DFSR
    https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/Storage-at-Microsoft/Streamlined-Migration-of-FRS-to-DFSR-SYSVOL/ba-p/425405

(please don't forget to mark helpful replies as answer)

Regards, Dave Patrick ....
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows Server] Datacenter Management