none
having trouble trying to connect a vm server and a vm win10 for learning purposes. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello

novice here,so bare with me as I'm not fluent yet in all the technical therms and aspects.

i recently started learning for a mcsa certificate,

in class we use vmware; i make a windows10vm and a server2012 VM,

i assign the server an ip from the range i see in the subnet address(VMware-virtual network editor)

i set up ADDS,DHCP,DNS on the server and in "edit/virtual network editor"",i put both the sever and the win10  on a VMnet-nat and use local DHCP to distribute ip addresses.(i think it was nat,maybe local host?)

i try to do the same with hyper-v but having issues,i guess i didn't fully understand how those switches work.

i added an internal switch and put both the machines on it, but when using ipconfig, i see i get different range of ips for both the server and win10 and i wasn't able to have the server distribute an ip to the win10vm nor connect to its local domain with it.

i get these kind of ips:169.254...  saw it was apipa - not sure what that means.

I'd appreciate the help.
    Monday, April 22, 2019 7:42 PM

Answers

• Since an internal vSwitch is being used there's no worries of a conflict so you can use about anything. You could assign;

192.168.10.10 for server and 192.168.10.11 for client.

If using windows 10, the default switch works similar to ICS. If you don't want that then create your own vSwitch. Also you've asked in windows server forums, if you're using windows 10 (desktop) Hyper-V you'll find more experts over here.

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/home?forum=win10itprovirt

To the last question you can setup another virtual machine with DHCP server role, but if you're not already familiar with this I'd skip it for now. (too many things to go wrong)

(please don't forget to mark helpful replies as answer)

Regards, Dave Patrick ....
    Microsoft Certified Professional