none
Log on as batch job right

Question

• I'm simply trying to configure Task Scheduler to run batch files in the middle of the night.  So I created a task within the scheduler and have specified "Run whether the user is logged on or not".  When I hit ok, it promots me for my username/password.  I'm a domain/enterprise admin logged into a domain account.  It tells me;

"This task requires that the user account specified has Log on as batch job rights"

Ok, so after looking this up I find myself editing the default domain policy:

Computer Configuration\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\User Rights Assignment

I find the above user right, enable it and add my username.  I log off, back on again and back into the scheduler.  It still tells me I need this right.  I checked, my username is there in the list beside the right.

Why can't I create a schedule even with the right I'm supposed to have?

Thanks!

--- Edit:

Ok I found this:

2. Type in secpol.msc /s

3. Select "Local Policies" in MSC snap in

4. Select "User Rights Assignment"

5. Right click on "Log on as batch job" and select Properties

6. Click "Add User or Group", and include the relevant user.

There's a lot of users in here for different things but the Add User or Group button is greyed out.  I'm a domain/enterprise administrator.  Why can't I add anything here?

Or put more simply, how do I give myself this right?

Thanks again

• Edited by meshman333 Wednesday, November 30, 2011 9:27 PM
    Wednesday, November 30, 2011 9:19 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Thanks for your posting.

Do you mean you configured Task Scheduler on your DC, but when you tried to save the setting, you got error with “This task requires that the user account specified has log on as batch job rights”?